10 Things to Do to Support & Build Cultures of Innovation

  1. Don’t worry about having all the answers.
  2. Take on new things, and don’t worry about having it all figured out from the start.
  3. Know that it’s okay to say to kids, “I don’t know,” or “I’m challenging you to figure it out.”
  4. Read books–try stuff that other people write about.
  5. Reflect and think about how you can make it new, different, better.
  6. Recognize boredom, figure out what conditions create it, and change.
  7. Blend and integrate: How would a different subject area teacher do this? How would a different grade level do this?
  8. Blend and integrate: If I were a business person, what would I do? If I sold cars, how would I proceed? If I were a surgeon, what steps would I take? If I were a short order cook, how would I make this?
  9. Take time to follow your own passions: run, play video games, cook, write, play music.
  10. Take time to do something you’ve never done before: run, play video games, cook, write, play music.